[NEW MUSIC] Beyoncé Releases Self-Titled ‘Beyoncé’

[NEW MUSIC] Beyoncé Releases Self-Titled ‘Beyoncé’

Drake said it best; girls love Beyoncé. But so do the boys, and the artists, the moms of the world and the weekend warriors who flood the dancefloors of the swankiest clubs. And of course we can’t forget the Bey Hive. But whether or not you’re an actual fan of the hardest working woman in the music business, there’s no denying that Beyoncé slays. She slays thanks to her hard work, endless quest for perfection and versatile talent. But before I start sounding like a stan…

Twitter and the blogs are all abuzz right now over the fact that Beyoncé has not only just dropped an album, but released 30-second video snippets for each song too. Oh and there’s that very sexy digital booklet that’s making men and women very envious of Jay Z.

As I previewed the tracks, the ones that stood out to me were Drunk in Love featuring Jay Z which sounds like a turnt Bey over a synth-y instrumental, Blow which I could see as the perfect pre-lude to a girls night out, the über-sensual Rocket and the heartwarming mother-daughter ode that is Blue.

The videos add a whole other element to the music which brought No Angel to my attention. Frames of different people all with a different story to tell made me think about the fibre that weaves through all off us. Yoncé made my jaw drop as I watched the gorgeous Joan Smalls coyly lick Beyoncé’s chest (it was PG-13, trust me) and XO, shot in Coney Island gave me visions of how celebratory life is. Haunted is so sumptuous in it’s choice of haute couture styling. ***Flawless is very strong in both Bey’s attitude and the imagery which is an homage to the powerful writer that is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. But the stand out video from the group for me was Rocket. As I mentioned, the track is very sexy but the video – well it’s the female answer to D’Angelo‘s Untitled (How Does It Feel)

The last video for purchase in the iTunes store is one that credits all the directors and actors of the varying videos which I thought was a classy touch considering that they can often be overlooked in all the glory.

Below you can find the track list along with the iTunes download link and previews of the videos.

Werk! Slay.

1) Pretty Hurts

2) Haunted

3) Drunk In Love ft. Jay Z

4) Blow

5) No Angel

6) Partition

7) Jealous

8) Rocket

9) Mine ft. Drake

10) XO

11) ***Flawless ft. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

12) Superpower ft. Frank Ocean

13) Heaven

14) Blue ft. Blue Ivy


Leave A Response »